top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Giles

To Jesus: I like talking to you

Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit

Image of Divine Mercy: All rights reserved. © The Congregation of the Sisters of Merciful Jesus.


Hello Jesus,


I think that friends are hard to talk to, except for you. They are hard to talk to because I have to think of what to say to them, and then wonder whether what I plan on saying is appropriate or not. Then, once I have decided my planned words are safe to say, I must figure out an appropriate time to say them; I don’t want to interrupt while my friend is talking to another person. And, in order for my friend to hear what I say, I have to look in their direction, and make my mouth open and move, and make my voice yell so that it’s sufficiently audible.


Not you, Jesus. You are different. Talking to you is easy. You can read people’s minds, which means there is no need for me to pray aloud; I can pray simply by thinking. I can also pray to you by typing on a laptop if that seems easier than thinking the words in my mind. And since you read people's minds, you already know everything I'm thinking anyway, so there is no point in bothering too much about what I say to you or how I say it.


I love you, Jesus, because you never, ever laugh at me, and there is no need to attempt being proper with you. You accept me already. And even though you are always with me, your face isn't visibly here, so I don’t feel stared at and don’t need to attempt looking at your eyes. Not only that, but every time of day or night is an appropriate time to talk to you. You hears everyone’s prayers at once. It makes no difference if someone else is talking to you at the same time as me.


So that is why I like talking to you, Jesus.

I will talk to you again soon.

-Rebecca



bottom of page